Fishermen, Follow Me, fisher of men

Mark 1:16-18English Standard Version (ESV)bilde-19

Jesus Calls the First Disciples

16 Passing alongside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and Andrew the brother of Simon casting a net into the sea, for they were fishermen. 17 And Jesus said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you become fishers of men.” 18 And immediately they left their nets and followed him.

As I read this today I had a few thoughts…

  1. Ordinary men.  A call to follow. Immediate obedience.
  2. Business men/men of a trade.  Given a command to follow (following means leaving everything behind).  They follow Jesus to catch a bigger fish…. people.
  3. I remember (and believe me my memory is terrible, just ask my wife or my dad) clear as day the day that I was driving home from San Diego Mesa College.  At this point I had a full scholarship to play baseball at University of San Diego and I had to finish the first semester at Mesa to get my Associates Degree to transfer to play baseball. A year before this day, November 4, 1998,  I had surrendered my life to Jesus Christ.  I was a baby Christian on fire for God and was ready to do whatever God had wanted me to do.  SQUIRREL!  Oh yeah… so I was driving home, heading North on Genesee Ave and I felt this small still voice, “Mark, you’re not going to play ball anymore, you are going to go into ministry.”  I thought to myself… “Ok, Lord, but what is Ministry?”  As I was driving up Genesee I looked over to my left and saw Horizon Christian Fellowship/School.  At this point Horizon had played a big part of me coming to know Jesus.  This is the place while I was rebelling in high school, that I had gone to church and seeds of the Gospel had been planted and 5 year later clicked. So, I pulled into Horizon looking for someone to talk to about ministry.  I ran into the Jv baseball coach.  He took me to the Head Varsity baseball coach (Kerry Keehl) and I shared my story.  Coach Keehl asked me to start coaching with him the next day and I said yes. On the way home I called up coach Hill from USD, shared what just happened, gave back the scholarship and started coaching at Horizon the next day.

Here are a few more thoughts about being called by Jesus.  1) We are called to something, not away from something. 2) Following Jesus > anything. 3) Every time I have followed Jesus calling me to do something, it has cost me something.  We had to leave family, friends, a house, etc behind. 4) God has been with us.  We have been through some CrAzY stuff, but God has always taken care of us and provided. 5) After 16 years of following Jesus, I can say with confidence that the ministry that is present, FCA- Fellowship of Christian Athletes is what God has been preparing me for.

If we have served together or you have been following where God has led me and my awesome family over the years…. I hope that you simply saw a simple man who loves Jesus following Him!  I have been truly blessed and impacted by so many people throughout the USA.   We have friends that we consider family all throughout San Diego, Pittsburgh area (CSI-Zelienople), New York peeps (CSI), Indio (soCal desert), Highland (Immanuel Baptist Church), Bakersfield, Fresno, Knoxville, Joplin and more.

As I was in The Word this morning, I was overwhelmed by the goodness of God and thankful for roller coaster ride of this thing that we call ministry.   I think ministry is simple following Jesus.  Will you listen to His voice?  Will you take Jesus at His Word?  Will you be quick to obey?  God wants you and I to be apart of the Greatest Cause…. The Cause of Jesus Christ.  The Cause of Christ is bigger than us, it is for The Kingdom of God, it is for Eternity.  FOLLOW HIM!

In His Mighty Grip,

Mark Salazar

 

